← Community Bank Intelligence
Community Bank Strategic Intelligence
Editorial intelligence for U.S. community banking
← Briefing archive

CBSI Daily Intelligence Brief — Friday, August 28, 2026 — ISSUE-OF-RECORD

PROMOTED · approved by the PO on August 28, 2026. Promoted from 2026-08-28_DRAFT.md, which is retained unaltered for provenance. Promotion makes this brief issue-of-record (ADR-008, ADR-024). No register write was made by this promotion.

Emphasis was reduced on promotion under EditorialPolicy §27 — bold now marks figures only, 0% of the text. No word of the text was changed, and the PO's own corrections and added sources are carried through as written.

Four transactions entered the register today, and CBSI found none of them on its own. All four came out of diffing the reconciliation stream against the register — including a $247 million acquisition that was announced three days ago with a same-day SEC filing, and which the stream itself had listed under "no change."

The deals are real and worth a director's time. But the coverage failure is part of the story rather than a footnote to it. A register that learns about a public-company transaction three days late is saying something about its own latency, and readers are entitled to know that before they weigh anything else here.


1. What changed

Valley National is buying deposits in Chicago — $247 million

Valley National Bancorp has agreed to acquire Providence Financial Corporation, parent of Providence Bank & Trust of South Holland, Illinois. Shareholders receive 4.3854 Valley shares plus $21.47 in cash, which came to about $247 million against Valley's August 25 close — a moving number, not a fixed price. Providence brings $1.6 billion in assets, $1.3 billion in deposits, $1.1 billion in loans and $800 million in wealth assets across 14 branches in Chicagoland and northwest Indiana. Valley expects roughly 2% earnings accretion, under 1% tangible book dilution, and an earnback inside three years. Closing is expected in early 2027.

Valley is a $66 billion regional that has spent the past year being written about in terms of its commercial real-estate book. This is the other side of that ledger. The company is buying funding: the release leads with the low-cost core deposit base, puts the branch network second, and installs Providence's chief executive as market president for retail and small business. Source: https://s204.q4cdn.com/203646286/files/doc_news/2026/Aug/25/VALLEY-NATIONAL-BANCORP-ACCELERATES-GROWTH-IN-ATTRACTIVE-CHICAGO-MARKET-WITH-ACQUISITION-OF-HIGH-PERFORMING-PROVIDENCE-FINANCIAL-CORPORATION.pdf

For a board in northern Illinois the price is not the interesting part. The interesting part is that an out-of-state acquirer of that size looked at a 14-branch deposit franchise in your market and decided it was worth about 15% of its own tangible book. Those are the deposits you are competing for.

First Financial takes Hickory Point — $111.3 million

First Financial Corporation of Terre Haute, holding company for the fifth-oldest national bank in the country, has agreed to acquire First Illinois Corporation and its Hickory Point Bank and Trust of Decatur. Holders may elect 0.5727 First Financial shares or $44.35 in cash, subject to a 70/30 mix, for an implied $45.00 a share and about $111.3 million in total. Hickory Point holds $717 million in assets, $627 million in deposits and $438 million in loans across eight offices in Decatur, Springfield and Champaign. The target is a fourth-quarter close, producing a company of roughly $6.9 billion.

Central Illinois is being consolidated from the outside in. An Indiana buyer is taking a $717 million franchise eight days after an Illinois buyer took a $356 million one in Ottawa. The stated rationale is deposits again — "an attractive core deposit franchise and strong balance sheet liquidity that will enhance our funding profile." Two buyers, two states, one reason. Directors in that footprint should work on the assumption that somebody has already put a number on their deposit base.

A credit union buys a Florida bank, and changes its own name on the way

Gulf Winds Credit Union of Pensacola will acquire Madison County Community Bank of Madison, Florida — about $200 million in assets across two offices, in Madison and Perry. The combined institution should pass $1.7 billion, with 15 locations in Florida and Alabama and 87,000 members. Gulf Winds also said it will operate as TruWorth Credit Union from spring 2027. Approval is expected mid-2027 and integration by early 2028. Terms were not disclosed.

This is the category CBSI kept when it narrowed its credit-union coverage, and the reason is arithmetic: when a credit union buys a bank, an FDIC-insured community charter stops existing. Credit unions took 0.7% of U.S. bank exits in 2015 and 11.4% in 2026.

The number that belongs beside it, and rarely travels with it, is the dollar share. Measured in assets rather than charters, the same activity is about 1% of what leaves the banking system in a year. Both figures are correct and neither should be quoted on its own.

What stands out here is the seller's size. At roughly $200 million, Madison County sits in the range where a board tends to run out of scale before it runs out of customers, and where the credit-union bid is often the only bid on the table.

Southern Minnesota: Profinium and F&M Community Bank

Profinium Financial Holdings of Fairmont has agreed to acquire F & M Community Bank, N.A., of Preston. A $211 million bank joining a $533 million one. Price not disclosed.

The unremarkable deal is the pattern. Two southern-Minnesota agricultural franchises are combining at a size where neither side is buying growth; they are buying the ability to spread compliance and technology costs over a larger balance sheet. The consolidation curve is mostly made of these, not of the $247 million headlines.


2. What did not change


3. Three questions for a board

If a $66 billion bank is paying up for a 14-branch deposit franchise in your market, what is yours worth, and to whom? Two of today's four deals were justified to shareholders on funding rather than on loans or fee income.

At what asset size does your board stop having a choice? Today's sellers were $200 million, $211 million and $717 million. The first two are close to the median shape of a U.S. bank exit. The third is not small by any measure.

If the only credible bid for your charter came from a credit union, would you know that in advance or find out in the room? Six weeks is not enough time to develop an alternative.


4. A note on how this brief was assembled

Every item above came from reconciling an external stream against the register, not from a CBSI sweep. The Valley National deal had been public for three days. That is worth stating plainly in the issue itself rather than in an internal log, because a reader who assumes same-day coverage will draw the wrong conclusion from a quiet day.


5. Sources

Primary, in order: SEC Form 8-K and Exhibit 99.1 (Valley National Bancorp, August 25); joint issuer press release (First Financial Corporation / First Illinois Corporation, August 27); issuer release (Gulf Winds Credit Union newsroom, August 25); Federal Register, Federal Reserve System notices (August 26); the OCC digital-assets licensing roster and Interpretations & Decisions index; the NCUA conservatorships and liquidations register; the FDIC failed-bank list.

Secondary: ABA Banking Journal and The Bank Slate for Profinium / F&M. That is the only source located for the transaction, and its announcement date remains unestablished — it is not asserted here.


Every fact above traces to the CBSI Editorial Workbench: 190 events / 37 charter records, generated 2026-09-06 17:25 from Bank_Deal_Register_Editorial_Workbench_v1.7.104_2026-09-06.xlsx. Facts are source-verified and human-approved before publication; "Developing" items are Tier-A auto-admitted and not yet human-confirmed (ADR-027/032).